Big Ben in MaxMSP

October 5, 2008 at 10:20 pm (Big Ben Composition - Prototype 2)

After finishing some variations on my sound material these last few days, I decided to piece together my idea in Max.

When I attempted this previously I struggled finding the right objects to use, but today I was determined to find a solution. I found that where I went wrong before was not referencing the name of the audio sample in the buffer correctly.

Creating the rest of the patch was fairly straight forward from this point. Max Help was useful, as was referencing and taking parts from previous patches I had.

Here is a screen shot:

I started by creating a timing mechanism (counter/metro) that would trigger 1 of 4 prepared samples at random for each type of sound (seaguls, gongs, sirens) when specified.

After doing this and sync the timing with the video I sat and listened. I found the relationship between sounds got a little boring after a while. It was too repetitive! (then again I’ve been working on it for a while…) To make it a bit more interesting I randomized the volume of each sample when triggered, to alter the dynamics each time. This could perhaps be extended to EQ and maybe playback speed of each sample.

At this current point I very happy with my progress, but I need to work a bit further on the sounds to keep the listener interested in the ‘dark’ moments. Perhaps making a set of 6-8 for each sound and exploring more elaborate variations and contrasting sonic activity will help me achieve this.

Leave a Reply

