Problem; Working with Space

September 24, 2008 at 9:53 pm (Tutorials & Workshops)

With the intrim show approaching I’ve begun thinking about where to install my work.

I will have two finished works to show, the Big Ben piece and Window Music. One of the main thing I need to consider for the installation is how my work (being sound based) will affect other artists work. I don’t want my work to intrude in to their space. This fact is slightly troubling as there aren’t many spaces within the Wilson Road building where this is possible! Off the top of my head I can think of 4 that may be workable; the room at the bottom of the basement stairs (leading to Digital Art studio), the stairs which connect the ground floor to the top level (where the conservation, graphic design studios are), the room at the end of the corridor (formerly inhabited by Andy!) and the long corridor which leads to the stairs going down to the Digital Art studio.

This problem extends beyond the intrim show to the final show! Working with sonic space is a key part of my project (stereo field, acoustics, loudness, etc) and because of this I would very much like to work with a specific space/s within the building. This creates a problem. Last year the final show was curated from April (I think) onwards, when the locations of everyones work was decided. I will need to work closely with my space/s before this, adapting my compositions to the acoustics.

The other problem is loudness! (which I hinted at above) My work is not about just listening to a composition, it’s about experiencing them. To me sound is at its most powerful when it becomes physical, that’s why I take great joy traveling around London’s bustling soundscape. Without the freedom to play with loudness and portray parts of the soundscape as it as, I fear my work will lose a lot of its dynamics and detail.

I’ll talk to Andy about this tommorow!

Leave a Reply

