Music making

August 4, 2008 at 11:39 am (Experiments, Reflections & Planning)

I’ve been working on a few new pieces these last few days.

The one that I want to talk about here is a piece using drums (congos and bongos):

I used the same over-dubbing techniques I’ve being utilizing recently to gradually build up a groove. After reaching a point where I was happy with it, I decided to continue the rest of the piece within the computer, using digital editing techniques. I used the method of not going back and editing previous sections and only using material from the previous 16 bars to create the next. I also limited myself to solely using audio editing techniques and no plug-in effects. So, I could only rearrange the syntax of the audio, layer it in different ways, reverse it or pan it. As the piece progressed I wanted to gradually turn the natural sound of the groove in to a heavily digitally edited one. I feel this was quite successful. By the end of the piece the rhythm is still retained, but the timbre of the sound has transformed heavily from drums.

Recently I’ve been leaning more and more towards making music outside of the computer, for the reason that when creating music inside it you get detached from the physical act of sound-making. This has made me think about my approach to using my collected material from the soundscape. I need to develop ways to make the process of music composition feel as natural playing an instrument. It makes me think I need to spend much more time with MaxMSP over the next few months, then I have over the last year!

Ideally I’d like to compose my pieces, or at least try out ideas, within the actual spaces themselves. I could perhaps bring composed sound with me to play back in these spaces….

Leave a Reply

